áRecipients of the International Prize


FENS 1998, Berlin, Germany
Dr. Tamas Freund (Budapest, Hungary) for his outstanding contributions to the organization and chemical characterization of identified neuronal circuits and cell types in the brain, in particular in the hippocampus.


FENS 2000 Brighton, UK
Dr. Robert C. Malenka (Boston, MA, USA) for his fundamental contributions in the field of synaptic plasticity, in particular long term potentiation and long term depression, and the characterization of the role of silent synapses in these processes.


FENS 2002 Paris, France
Dr. Daniele Piomelli (Irvine, CA, USA) for his fundamental discoveries concerning the functional roles and regulation of endogenous cannabinoids in the brain and peripheral tissues.


FENS 2004 Lisbon, Portugal
Dr. Cornelia I. Bargmann (San Francisco, CA, USA) for her fundamental discoveries concerning genes, behavior, and the sense of smell in the nematode C. elegans.


FENS 2006 Vienna, Austria
Dr. Patrik Ernfors (Stockholm, Sweden) for his outstanding work on the expression and function of neurotrophic factors and neuropeptide and their receptors exploiting transgenic techniques.


FENS 2008 Geneva, Switzerland
Dr. Massimo Scanziani (San Diego, CA, USA) for his seminal discoveries on how cerebral cortex perceives the environment by showing that cortical circuits operate in an activity-dependent and non-linear fashion using canonical feed-forward and feed-back inhibition circuits as feature detectors of incoming stimuli.


FENS 2010 Amsterdam, Netherlands
Dr. Jonas FrisÚn (Stockholm, Sweden) for his pioneering contributions to our understanding of neurogenesis in the central nervous system.


FENS 2012 Barcelona, Spain
Dr. Eleanor Maguire (London, UK) for her innovative contributions to understanding human memory.

FENS 2014 Milan, Italy
Dr. Patrik Verstreken (Leuven, Belgium) for his success in undoing the effect of one of the genetic defects that leads to Parkinson's using vitamin K2.



back to home page